Marijuana is becoming legal all around the country, but that doesn't mean it is legal where you are. While some people may have access due to medical conditions, others have no legal right to obtain, grow or possess the drug.
Marijuana is still illegal under federal law, even though it is legal in some states. Federal laws ban you from possessing marijuana in any amount, which could end up leading to a charge and conviction if you're in a state that does not allow marijuana's use.
What does Virginia think of marijuana?
In Virginia, marijuana is illegal, and a conviction will lead to a misdemeanor. First possession offenses can result in jail time, regardless of the person's situation. The jail time can be up to 30 days. You may also be fined up to $500 if you are caught in possession of marijuana.
What happens if you're caught selling marijuana in Virginia?
If you sell marijuana in Virginia, you'll be in deeper trouble than if you only possess it. It is a Class 1 misdemeanor to sell up to a half ounce of marijuana. Selling up to five pounds of marijuana results in a Class 5 felony, which could then ban you from possessing a gun and holding certain jobs. Simply giving a person marijuana free of charge is less serious, but it still has a potential penalty of a Class 1 misdemeanor.
Sometimes, the law catches people off guard because it changes between states. No matter why you are in possession, if you're accused of a drug crime, a strong defense is necessary. Possessing marijuana doesn't necessarily make you a criminal, and you have the right to defend yourself before anyone determines if you should face a penalty or punishment for the alleged crime.