A DUI has the potential to change your life, especially if your hurt someone when you're intoxicated. Take, for example, this case involving a woman who hit and killed a pedestrian. The pedestrian's death resulted in a criminal charge, along with charges for having her child in her vehicle at the time of the crash.
Getting a ticket for driving under the influence (DUI) costs you more than your dignity or a night in jail while you sober up. The fines and social penalties associated with a DUI may be severe. A person's first DUI can cost $2,000 or more, which is a hefty price tag for a single mistake.
Drunk driving is a serious offense, but is it as serious if you're not behind the wheel of an automobile? In Virginia, the State Senator George Barker thinks so, which is why he's backing SB1223, a bill that could make it a crime to get behind the wheel of any electric personal assistive mobility device and to drive on the highway while intoxicated.
You enjoy smoking marijuana on occasion. It's relaxing, and you don't think it has any negative effects. In fact, on a recent trip to Colorado, you enjoyed the freedom to smoke when you wanted to without the potential for being arrested or charged. That's not the case in every state, though.
Virginia's ignition interlock laws are keeping convicted drunk drivers from breaking the law a second time, which is good news for everyone. Getting convicted a second time costs hundreds to thousands of dollars, can result in incarceration and negatively affects your relationships. With an ignition interlock device, you might never have to see that happen.
If you've been stopped for driving under the influence and are convicted, one of the things you may have to have in your vehicle is an ignition interlock device (IID). It's important to understand what an IID is and what its purpose is before it is installed.
You're not 21, but you're over 18 and feel like you should be able to drink. While it's long been argued that those 18 and older should be able to drink, the law currently states otherwise. If you're caught, you can be charged for possessing and drinking alcohol.
If you face a DUI charge and are convicted, one of the things you could end up having to use is an ignition interlock device (IID). This device prevents you from driving if you have a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) that is over .08 percent. Every time you get into your vehicle, you'll need to submit a breath test. Additionally, you may need to give another sample after you've been driving for a few minutes.
You were driving while slightly tipsy, and you thought you could get home safe. Unfortunately, an officer saw you swerve in your lane, and now you're waiting in the officer's car as he calls in your arrest and plans his return to the station.
You know that if you're convicted of drunk driving, you may be expected to have an ignition interlock device (IID) installed into your vehicle. If you have one, you know you have to use it before you can drive.